A long history

THE COUFFRAN ESTATE

The dovecote dates back to the Ancien Régime and in the 18th-century archives of Jacques Baurein, it is referred to as the noble house of “Cousran”. Many families have come and gone, but the best known is the family of Baron of Brane, known as the “Napoleon of the Vines”, who imposed Cabernet as the main grape variety in the Médoc region.

After the revolution, Jean-Valère Cabarrus, a ship-owner and wine merchant who already owned other prestigious wine estates, acquired Château Couffran.

At the end of the 19th century, the Célérier family, wine merchants in Bordeaux, took advantage of the success of Bordeaux wines and economic development in winemaking, by investing in the Médoc wine region and buying Couffran. They also decided to carry out major renovation work on the Château, creating its definitive architecture.

The acquisition by Louis Miailhe in 1924 was an important step. It was Louis Miailhe who then decided on the definitive spelling of “Coufran”, as well as undertaking major redevelopment work on the vineyard, planting mainly Merlot Noir, a rounder, more charming variety which was highly appreciated at the time.

 

THE MIAILHE FAMILY

The family originated from Tarn et Garonne and moved to Portets in the Graves region, before Bordeaux. They were known as wine brokers. The first to start out in the profession was Elie, appointed as a Royal Broker by letter patent in 1793 (source: departmental library).

The brokerage firm of the same name began only in 1818 (source: family history). Successive generations went on to work in the profession without interruption. Jean Miailhe was the last to earn his living from this activity, before stopping in 1970.

The first member of the Miailhe family to become a winemaker in the middle of the 19th century was Frédéric (Château Siran), by a happy coincidence in his private life: his marriage.

Later, during the major winemaking crises from the 1920s through to the 1950s, his two sons Louis and Edouard complemented their brokerage work by investing in other Médoc wines.

After the sale of Pichon Contesse by May Eliane de Lencquesaing (Edouard’s daughter), the last winemaker in this family line was his nephew Edouard Miailhe, at Siran.

As for Louis’s descendants, only his son Jean continued in winemaking, at Coufran then at Verdignan. Since the 80s, his two children Marie Cécile Vicaire and Eric Miailhe have taken over.

UNE LONGUE HISTOIRE

Le Domaine de Couffran

Le pigeonnier remonte à l’époque de l’ancien régime et déjà dans les archives de l’Abbé Baurein datant du 18eme siècle, il était évoqué la maison noble de « Cousran ». De nombreuses familles s’y sont succédées mais la plus connue est certainement celle du Baron de Brane surnommé le « Napoléon des vignes » qui va imposer le Cabernet en Médoc comme le cépage principal.

C’est après la révolution que Jean-Valère Cabarrus, armateur et négociant déjà propriétaire de prestigieux domaines viticoles fait l’acquisition du Château Couffran.

Fin 19eme, la famille Célérier négociant à Bordeaux profite du rayonnement des vins de Bordeaux et du développement économique viticole pour investir dans le vignoble Médocain en achetant Couffran. Ils décident aussi de faire de grands travaux dans le Château pour lui donner son architecture définitive.

L’acquisition par Louis Miailhe en 1924 est une étape importante pour ce cru. Louis Miailhe décide alors de l’orthographe définitive de « Coufran ». Il débute un gros travail de restructuration du vignoble pour planter majoritairement du Merlot Noir, cépage plus rond et charmeur, fortement plébiscité à cette époque.

 

La famille Miailhe

Originaire du Tarn et Garonne, cette famille s’établit à Portets dans les Graves puis à Bordeaux. Connus comme courtier en vin ; le premier à entrer dans cette profession fut Elie, nommé Courtier Royal par lettre patente en 1793 (source bibliothèque départementale).

Le bureau de courtage du même nom ne vit seulement le jour qu’en 1818 (source familiale). Des générations successives exercèrent cette profession sans discontinuité. Jean Miailhe fut le dernier à vivre de cette activité qu’il arrêta en 1970.

Le premier membre de la famille Miailhe à devenir viticulteur dans le milieu du 19ème siècle fut Frédéric (Château Siran) par un hasard de sa vie privée : son mariage.

Plus tard, pendant les grandes crises viticoles des années 1920 à 1950, ses deux fils Louis et Edouard complétèrent leur activité de courtier en investissant dans d’autres crus médocains.

Depuis la vente de Pichon Contesse par May Eliane de Lencquesaing (fille d’Edouard), le dernier viticulteur de cette branche familiale est son neveu Edouard Miailhe à Siran.

Pour les descendants de Louis, seul son fils Jean est resté dans la viticulture à Coufran puis à Verdignan. Depuis les années 80, ses deux enfants Marie Cécile Vicaire et Eric Miailhe ont pris le relais.